write-reviewWrite A Reviewdownload-appDownload App
India's Favourite Wedding Planning Platform
Reviews (13)

The Palayana Hua Hin

Rating Distribution
5.013 reviews
5

13 reviews

4

0 reviews

3

0 reviews

2

0 reviews

1

0 reviews

Last Review Updated on 21 Sep 2019

Review The Palayana Hua Hin

Rate Vendor*

Share on Facebook
Add Photos
Submit Review
EmilyTrader
EmilyTrader5.0

1 month ago

My husband and I attended a wedding which was catered (4 meals) over the wedding weekend by Chef Andy from the Palayana. We can't stop talking about the food, especially my husband, a former restaurant owner, caterer, and food service professional and entrepreneur. He had sworn off of Indian food having many bad experiences at US Indian restaurants as he believes that getting the right balance of spices is difficult. He's the type of guy that always thinks he could "make it better" and are biggest fights are in the kitchen Let me tell you he could not help trying everything at this wedding and loving every bite. He doesn't do social media, so I'm posting this review that he wrote. I have been blessed with a 6th sense, an extraordinary palate by luck and the grace of God, and I've been a Food Service Professional 35 years, with my food featured on the Food Network, and have catered to U.S. presidents, governors, and ordinary consumers.  In a recent trip to Thailand for a wedding, we dined on some the best traditional and untraditional Indian and Thai food from the chef at Palayana, Hua Hin. The wedding included five lunch/dinner meals -- all prepared and executed under the direct supervision of one of the most INNOVATIVE and talented Chefs I have ever met, Andy (Ashish) Dhawan, the head of food and beverage for the Palayana.   I've never been a huge fan of traditional Indian food because getting the spices balanced can be tricky, but every dish was spot on and the Thai foods were equally admirable. But the creativity brought to the appetizers and non-traditional "fusion" dishes was indescribable. Indian fused with Mexican (mutton gelouti quesadillas), waffle dosa, Thai with Italian ( a whimsical Pad Thai Arancini) or butter chicken lasagna. Indian stuffed aloo tikki (with peas and cashews) were served with individual syringes to inject just the right amount of Tamarind chutney. Every bite of every last dish/appetizer I tried started and finished with perfect depth and balance.   Mr. Dhawan was able to flawlessly execute service with as many as 15 various full blown sweet and savory on site cooking stations simultaneously for 250 guest within an indoor or outdoor venue, including State Ball Rooms and open air seaside venues. When traveling through the coast of Thailand I strongly recommend you take time to discover and appreciate the creative menu at the Palayana, they will not disappoint any foodie. Bon Appetit!

Recommended for:
Amazing Food
Keith Sunderlal
Keith Sunderlal5.0

1 month ago

We were looking to host our daughters wedding at a resort in Cha Am/Hua Hin area but the Palayana was too small to host our event of over 250 guests. Since I am in the food business and most of my friends are "foodies" it was important for us to present gourmet standard creative global Indian cuisine. Also about 40% of our guests were vegetarians and some had aa preference for Indian cuisine only hence the need for aa top-rated Indian caterer. The wedding was to be held at the Regent Cha Am Beach resort, about 8 kms from the Palayana - and they did not offer us the quality of Indian cuisine we required. So we met with Mr. Sumeet (F&B) & Chef Andy for our wedding catering (250 guests and 4 meals over 2 days) and also a small family dinner for 50 guests at the Palayana to kick-off our celebrations. The dinner at Palayana was help in the sea-side lawns and the decor was wonderful. The live-cooking stations (I think 8) all offered our guests vegetarian and non-veg options and everything was prepared fresh and served to the guests. None the fusion foods seemed forced or arbitrary but were an awesome blend of flavors and all our guests enjoyed the food. The service level was very high. Then came the main event of the 4 wedding meals over 2 days. Both Mr. Sumeet & Chef Andy were present, along with their team, at the venue for all 4 events and the catering for 250 guests went smoothly. We never ran short of food and freshness and quality was maintained through the end. All our guests still remember the food - which is always a critical make or break for any wedding. We would strongly recommend the Palayana catering team to anyone hosting a wedding in Hua Hin/Cha Am area and who want to take a significant step up from the routine "desi" catering offered by the other resorts and caterers from Bangkok. We had met with and tasted food from many leading suppliers but found all of them to be run-of-the mill variety - the kind that would no longer even be viable in Tier-II Indian cities! Wishing Mr. Sumeet & Chef Andy all the best!

Recommended for:
Value for moneyProfessionalismAmazing Food
Shriya Chhabra
Shriya Chhabra5.0

5 months ago

I had an amazing stay at Palayana . I attended my cousin's marriage here and everything was on time and decorations for every event was so mesmerizing. Food was delicious, the staff was so humble and polite. Timely delivery of everything. Will visit again for sure and will recommend everyone to stay here and enjoy the perfect beach side view and have gala time with your loved ones! ♥️

Surabhi Sharma
Surabhi Sharma5.0

6 months ago

Organising a wedding internationally can be a task which can also create a chaos and make the most important day of a bride's life a negative one. But thanks to the entire team of palayana for carrying out all the services so greatly and for making it a memorable day without any chaos. The service, management , decor, food everything was just commendable and outstanding. I would really like to recommend it to anyone who plans to have their wedding in thailand to experience such great services by you and make their day unforgettable.

Saiba Sachdev
Saiba Sachdev5.0

6 months ago

We had our wedding at the Palayana in February 2019 and it was PERFECT. Twinkle, Sumeet and Andy were godsends. The amount of personal attention, love and affection that we got was exemplary. Our experience end to end - right from the food tasting and venue inspection months before the wedding to the day of the wedding itself was faultless. The management and the staff was faultless, accomodating and professional in dealing with all our requests. They went above and beyond for us and our guests. The ambience is gorgeous and homely. The food is visionary and received compliments from all our guests. The presentation took our breath away. They are thorough professionals and we definitely think that weddings are their forte. There was no dearth of ideas to make our day even more special. Sumeet is a rockstar and one of the nicest people we've met. We can't thank them enough for a spectacular and unforgettable experience. We will be forever indebted to Team Palayana. Thank you again!

Recommended for:
HospitalityAmazing FoodProfessionalism
Sal G
Sal G5.0

7 months ago

Palayana is a hidden gem in Hua Hin. When we were finalising properties for our wedding. We visited palayana and instantly fell in love. Each cottage comes with its own private pool. The rooms are beautiful. The entire property is absolutely stunning. The entire team was very helpful in planning the wedding. Each minute detail was taken care of. The guests couldn’t stop praising everything. If you’re looking to getting married in Thailand, definitely check out this property.

Recommended for:
Amazing FoodHospitalityPoolside Area
Namita Chandra
Namita Chandra5.0

9 months ago

We had a wonderful stay at the Palayana in Jan and would highly recommend it to anyone planning to visit HuaHin/Cha-am. We planned our wedding there and everyone had an absolutely wonderful time. The place was like a dream with the beautiful beach nearby and the well-lit gardens in the evening. Food was great and so was the service. We were concerned about finding good Indian vegetarian food in Thailand as a large number of people in our group were strict vegetarians. But the experience far exceeded expectations. Special thanks to Sumeet and team for organizing everything so well. This property is truly an escape from Chaos.

Recommended for:
ProfessionalismAmazing FoodHospitality
The Palayana Hua Hin
Namita! Thankyou so much for the wonderful review for our property and we are truly delighted to hear that you enjoyed your wedding as much as we did and we look forward to having you back with us. We look forward to having you with us again and wishing you a very happy married life.
Surabhi Sharma
Surabhi Sharma5.0

11 months ago

Their hospitality will win you over! We had our wedding at palayana few days back and it was nothing less than a dream. Sumeet and Andy made sure that our guests and team get the best of arrangements and they personally made sure of it. All our impromptu changes were taken care by their team effortlessly. Even before the wedding, planning the venue details with Sumeet was really smooth and stress-free. Surely one of the best indian wedding destination. Food - Thai and Indian fusion and desserts are to die for. Villas - Beautiful Villa with amazing views and privacy.

The Palayana Hua Hin
Thankyou so much for your kind words Surabhi! We most definitely enjoyed your wedding and we were very happy to host you for the most important day of your life! Wishing you and your husband all the happiness in the world.
Riaz Ansari
Riaz Ansari5.0

11 months ago

The best location for a wedding having numbers up to 120. We did a buy out of the resort for our wedding. It was a dream come true. The hospitality was excellent. You can have a beach wedding as well as an indoor ballroom, they have a great outdoor lawn as well. All the rooms and villas are excellent and extremely spacious. If you are planning on having a wedding in Hua Hin, do not think twice about The Palayana. They will make your dream come true. Special thanks to Sumeet and team for making our wedding a special one. Cheers.

Recommended for:
Value for moneyAmazing FoodHospitality
Niti Pancholi
Niti Pancholi5.0

11 months ago

Palayana - A perfect destination for weddings and especially for an Indian wedding. Palayana was the best thing which happened to us. It was our dream to get married by the beach side. And Palayana was answering for every question. The property is having an amazing view with garden and then sand and then a beach. When we were hunting for the properties we heard really good reviews about it. And we were so sure after seeing the property, that we wanted to go for it only. Then we met Mr. Sumeet such a great man. he Has done a great job, he was always there by 24/7 to help us in every possible way. From check-in to check-out he was on his toes. we are so grateful to him, he was taking care of everything as a family member, countless things he has done for us. The way Mr. Summer is managing everything Palayana is going to rock more and more. He helped us from the beginning to end. And every resort needs a perfectionist person like him. And a big thank you to Mr. Andy, Being an Indian and staying in India the main thing in wedding is food. People judge the wedding from its food. And Mr. Andy made it so sure that everything was just so perfect. In India we never get such a fusion food. Presentation of food and the taste was just so perfect. In every function, they both were there and they were taking care of things that people should get fresh and hygienic food. When we were finalizing the menu they both made us try every dish and it was having the same details in functions also. For Indian wedding it is the perfect destination because you are getting that beautiful environment, amazing food ( which is really difficult to get in out of India) and palayana is serving it with such a perfection and beautiful way. And a supporting happy team. A perfect combination for a wedding. #infiNiDee

Recommended for:
On Time ServiceAmazing FoodHospitality
Himanshi Nayar
Himanshi Nayar5.0

1 year 3 months ago

Oh where do I begin ........ Palayana was the best thing that happened to our wedding planning. We had hiccups from all other aspects but never the venue . Not one complaint .! This was a perfect venue for a dreamy wedding , right on the beach which gives you the perfect background for your wedding vows! The property is way more luxurious than its neighbouring (more popular) resorts and your guests wont stop thanking you for making them feel like VIPs. I just can’t stop raving about how spacious and luxurious their rooms are . Getting a good property is only half battle, but what is more important is the team you work with and Palayana scored here as well ! We worked with Sumeet and he is the most accommodating person ever . He took the project like its his own family which made us feel so comfortable in the whole 4 month journey! Andy , who heads food and beverages made sure we had the perfect menu for our traditional and experimentative guest list ! We are still getting calls about how they got better pani Puri’s outside india or how Thai is now their favourite cuisine! The hospitality staff was always smiling and just a call away. I could go on and on but i would end by saying that if I had to do it again (God Forbid) i would blindly choose The Palayana !

Recommended for:
AccommodatingAmazing FoodHospitality
Paridhi Agarwal
Paridhi Agarwal5.0

1 year 3 months ago

So, the Palayana was my wedding venue. My husband and I were checking hotels online in HuaHin when we came across this beautiful property right in between two popular properties along the coast line and we fell in love with its photographs. We spoke to the person in charge and with his quick responsive attitude and accommodating nature we knew this was it.. we visited the property and finally decided upon it after meeting the team personally. The main person in charge Mr Sumeet Singh and the executive chef Mr Andy really made everything look perfect to us. Our guests had the best experience of their life those two days at our wedding. The stay, the hospitality, the effort of the team and especially the food was mind blowing. I cant express in words how much we are grateful to the entire team of Palayana for making our dreams come true! Thank you!

Snigdha Dutt
Snigdha Dutt5.0

1 year 9 months ago

i had my wedding here at the Palayana from December 20th till the 22nd..and boy...I'm still in shock at what an exceptionally fabulous show they put up! I had guests from 29 countries and each and every one of them are mesmerized by the property, the hospitality, the food, the warmth... I have been working specifically with Andy, Sumeet and Pisan for the past 9 months trying to organize the events...if I could give them an A+++, i would! what an accommodating, lovely team, who has now become my family!! I would recommend this place for weddings (and everything else) with my eyes closed :)

Recommended for:
ProfessionalismAmazing FoodHospitality